Tagged: Malawi

According to Loverists, Malawi is a multi-party democracy with an executive branch of government led by the President. The President is elected by popular vote for a five-year term and is both Head of State and Head of Government. The President appoints the Vice-President and Cabinet, who are responsible for the day-to-day running of the government. The legislative branch consists of the National Assembly, which has 193 members elected through a first past the post system to serve five-year terms. The National Assembly serves as Malawi’s primary lawmaking body, with its powers including enacting legislation, approving budgets, ratifying international treaties and agreements, and monitoring government activities. The judicial branch in Malawi consists of a Supreme Court of Appeal, High Court, Magistrates Courts, Local Courts and Special Tribunals. The Supreme Court is the highest court in Malawi and has final jurisdiction over all civil and criminal matters within the country’s legal system; it also has appellate jurisdiction over decisions from lower courts. The High Court hears appeals from Magistrates Courts as well as exercising original jurisdiction over matters such as constitutional issues or cases involving customary law. Magistrates Courts have concurrent jurisdiction with other lower courts over civil matters such as debt collection or land disputes while Local Courts have primary jurisdiction over cases involving customary law such as marriage disputes or inheritance issues. Special tribunals are established to handle specific types of cases such as labour disputes or election petitions. Malawi has a long history of establishing and maintaining friendly relations with other nations. Since gaining independence from the United Kingdom in 1964, Malawi has sought to build strong political and economic ties with its neighbors in Africa and beyond. In recent years, Malawi has worked to strengthen diplomatic ties with China, which has become a major investor in the country. It is also a member of the African Union (AU) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC), both of which have contributed significantly to the development of Malawi’s economy. In addition, Malawi has signed a number of bilateral agreements with other countries, particularly those in Africa and Asia. Notably, it has signed cooperation agreements with South Africa, India, Tanzania and Mozambique. These agreements have allowed for increased trade between the countries as well as mutual investment opportunities that can benefit both sides. Furthermore, Malawi is a member of several international organizations such as the United Nations (UN) and World Trade Organization (WTO). Through these organizations it can cooperate more effectively on issues related to international politics and economics. Malawi is also actively involved in peacekeeping operations around the world through its participation in United Nations missions such as MONUSCO in Democratic Republic of Congo and UNISFA in Sudan/South Sudan border region. Additionally, Malawian troops are currently serving under AMISOM mission in Somalia combating al-Shabaab militants. This demonstrates Malawi’s commitment to upholding international peace and security worldwide. See prozipcodes for Malawi defense and foreign policy.

Malawi Bordering Countries

Malawi 1995

According to PHILOSOPHYNEARBY, Malawi, officially known as the Republic of Malawi, is a landlocked country located in southeastern Africa. It is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the northeast, and Mozambique to...


Malawi Industry

Malawi’s southern part with the largest city of Blantyre is the country’s commercial and industrial center. The industry mainly produces goods for domestic consumption, but especially the dominant food industry generates some export income....