Tagged: Madagascar

According to Loverists, Madagascar is a semi-presidential republic, with executive power shared between the President and the Prime Minister. The President is elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term, and is both Head of State and Head of Government. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and approved by the National Assembly. The government also includes two Vice Presidents, Ministers of State, Ministers, Secretaries of State, and various other authorities. The National Assembly consists of 151 members who are elected for a five-year term using a party-list proportional representation system. The Senate consists of 33 members who are elected for six year terms in single-member constituencies using a majority vote system. In addition to these branches of government, there are also several autonomous provinces in Madagascar with their own local assemblies that have limited legislative powers over their respective provinces. The judicial branch in Madagascar is composed of the Supreme Court (Cour Supreme), which hears appeals from lower courts; the High Court (Cour Superieure), which hears appeals from lower courts; regional courts; district courts; and commune courts which hear minor civil cases as well as criminal cases involving misdemeanors or lesser crimes. The Constitutional Court has jurisdiction over constitutional matters such as election disputes or conflicts between branches of government while the Supreme Council for Transition is responsible for resolving disputes between political parties during times of transition from one regime to another. Madagascar has long sought to maintain amicable relations with its neighboring countries and other nations around the world. Since gaining independence in 1960, Madagascar has sought to build strong political and economic ties with its neighbors in the Indian Ocean region and beyond. In recent years, Madagascar has worked to strengthen diplomatic ties with France, which still maintains a presence in the country through its embassy in Antananarivo. It is also a member of the African Union (AU) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC), both of which have contributed significantly to the development of Madagascar’s economy. In addition, Madagascar has signed a number of bilateral agreements with other countries, particularly those in Africa and Asia. Notably, it has signed cooperation agreements with China, India, South Africa and Mozambique. These agreements have allowed for increased trade between the countries, as well as mutual investment opportunities that can benefit both sides. Furthermore, Madagascar is a member of several international organizations such as the United Nations (UN) and World Trade Organization (WTO). Through these organizations it can cooperate more effectively on issues related to international politics and economics. See prozipcodes for Madagascar defense and foreign policy.

Madagascar Bordering Countries

Madagascar 1995

According to PHARMACYLIB, Madagascar, officially the Republic of Madagascar, is an island nation located off the southeastern coast of Africa. It is the fourth-largest island in the world and is home to some of...


Madagascar Industry

Madagascar’s manufacturing industry is relatively small and employs just under 7 percent of the workforce. In the factories, food, clothing and textiles are mainly manufactured, both for export and for the domestic market. Most...