Tagged: Bhutan

According to Paradisdachat, the Government of Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy with the King as both the head of state and head of government. The King is elected by popular vote every five years and appoints a Prime Minister to carry out government policies and programs. The Prime Minister is responsible for forming a government, managing the cabinet and ensuring that laws are implemented. The Parliament of Bhutan consists of two houses: the National Council, known as Gyelyong Tshogdu, and the National Assembly, known as Druk Gyalpo Tshogdu. The National Council consists of 25 members elected through universal adult suffrage every five years while the National Assembly consists of 47 members appointed by the King on advice from the Prime Minister. Both houses have legislative power over matters that affect all of Bhutan such as taxation and public expenditure although only bills passed by both houses become law. The Constitution of Bhutan guarantees fundamental rights such as freedom of speech, press, assembly and association as well as protecting religious freedom and equality before law regardless of gender or race. In addition to its parliamentary system there are also several local self-governing bodies in each district which have their own laws governing local matters such as education, health care, housing and transport. Bhutan has traditionally maintained a policy of self-imposed isolation and non-alignment in its foreign relations throughout its history. The country only opened its doors to the outside world in the late 1950s and since then has slowly developed relationships with other countries. Bhutan’s foreign policy is based on the principles of non-interference, mutual respect, and cooperation with all countries regardless of their political or economic systems. Bhutan maintains close ties with India, its closest neighbor and largest trading partner. The two countries share a special relationship based on common cultural values and strong economic ties. India provides Bhutan with economic and developmental assistance as well as military support to protect its sovereignty. Additionally, Bhutan also participates in several joint initiatives such as SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) through which it promotes regional cooperation among South Asian nations. In recent years, Bhutan has also established diplomatic relations with other countries around the world including China, Japan, Australia etc. These countries have provided Bhutan with various forms of aid such as financial assistance, technical expertise etc., which have helped it develop various sectors such as agriculture, tourism etc., thereby contributing to overall economic growth in the country. Bhutan is also a member of several international organizations such as United Nations (UN), World Trade Organization (WTO), International Monetary Fund (IMF) etc., through which it works towards promoting global peace and security while also striving to achieve sustainable development goals both regionally and globally. Additionally, Bhutan is also part of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) since 2017 which further helps strengthen its diplomatic ties with other Muslim majority countries across the globe. See recipesinthebox for Bhutan defense and foreign policy.

Bhutan Bordering Countries

Bhutan 1995

According to COMMIT4FITNESS, Bhutan is a small landlocked country located in the Himalayan Mountains of South Asia, between India and China. It has a population of around 750,000 people and its capital city is...

Bhutan Industry

Bhutan Industry

Cheap electricity from hydropower has contributed to the growth of the industrial sector since the 1990s. Today, the industry accounts for over 40 percent of the economy. This is mainly a relatively small-scale light...